Weedeater, The Skull, High Tone Son Of A Bitch (members of Neurosis)

The Skull

The Skull are a doom metal band from Chicago, IL, founded in 2012 by former Trouble (5) members Eric Wagner (vocals), Ron Holzner (bass), and Jeff “Oly” Olson (drums), along with guitarists Lothar Keller and Michael Carpenter of the metal band Sacred Dawn. The band’s original purpose was to perform Trouble’s early material (they took their moniker from the name of Trouble’s second LP) but eventually decided to moved forward with original material. Oly dropped out in 2012 and was replaced first by Brad Sabathne and then Kevin Tarpey before returning to the group in 2013. Michael Carpenter left the group in 2014 and was replaced briefly by one-time Trouble bassist Chuck Robinson before guitarist Matt Goldsborough joined the fold. The Skull released their first LP in late 2014. In January 2015, Oly step aside again as his job with Allagash Brewery prohibited him from touring.

High Tone Son Of A Bitch

Formed in 2003 from the ashes of Cruevo, and preceding guitar player Paul Kott’s work in Sleep’s Matt Pike-fronted Bay Area metal “supergroup” Kalas, High Tone Son of a Bitch is an innovative, psychedellic stoner/doom band that pulls together a number of Bay Area musicians from bands like Noothgrush, Hammers of Misfortune, Men of Porn, Neurosis, and others. After lead guitarist and Paul Kott’s brother Andrew Kott died in 2008 at 26 years old, HTSOB’s announced 2005 hiatus was assumed to be permanent. The band reformed in 2019 with most surviving core members intact and a large cast of contributing Bay Area musicians collaborating on studio efforts.


Apr 23 2019


8:00 PM


Mohawk Place
47 E Mohawk St, Buffalo, NY 14203


After Dark Presents
QR Code
Get Updates